- Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
- When can you move the cue ball in pool?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?
- What happens if you hit another player’s ball in pool?
- Do you have to call the 9 ball in 9 ball?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What happens if you put the black ball in pool on the break?
- Can you move the cue ball?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
- Is there ball in hand in 8 ball?
- Is potting the opponent’s ball in Pool A foul?
- What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
- Is there slop in 9 ball?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
When the player fails to pot a ball on the first or subsequent shot of the first visit, play then continues with the second visit.
a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game..
What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
8-ball rules require that once a group is assigned to a player — by legally pocketing a ball after the break (in most rule sets) — then hitting any other ball first except your assigned group is a foul.
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?
I. In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).
What happens if you hit another player’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Do you have to call the 9 ball in 9 ball?
Nine Ball is played with nine object balls numbered one through nine and a cue ball. … After a miss, the incoming player must shoot from the position left by the previous player, but after any foul the incoming player may start with the cue ball anywhere on the table. Players are not required to call any shot.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if you put the black ball in pool on the break?
If the black is potted, the game is restarted with a re-rack , broken by the original breaker. If the cue ball is potted on an otherwise fair break, it is a “non-standard” fault (foul) that simply ends the breaker’s turn, with no further penalties. … If no balls were potted on the break, the table remains open.
Can you move the cue ball?
The cue ball may be adjusted by the player’s hand, cue, etc., so long as it remains in hand. … Additionally, if the shot fails to contact a legal object ball or fails to drive the cue ball over the head string, the shot is a foul and the opposing player has ball in hand according to the specific game rules.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Is there ball in hand in 8 ball?
Ball-in-hand means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of a scratch on the break which results in ball-in-hand behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all of your category of balls have been pocketed).
Is potting the opponent’s ball in Pool A foul?
Potting any opponent’s ball, except with the first shot following any foul. Ball off the table. A ball shall be deemed “off the table” if it comes to rest anywhere other than on the bed of the table.
What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Is there slop in 9 ball?
A slop shot can either be legal or illegal depending on the style of game you are playing. … For example, in slop pool, you might shoot at the nine ball in a nine-ball game, miss your pocket entirely, happily bank into another pocket and score a point or win. Players who make lots of slop shots generally are beginners.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.